Controversy and Counter Terrorism: Random Acts of Violence versus Random Acts of Love

Today, I read all the comments my wife has received regarding her Holocaust 2015 post.  Some folks agree and some folks disagree.  I wondered, why all this controversy.  I asked God to give me some clarification behind what was happening here.  I suppose that I was under the impression that if God was leading someone to do something that there would be some universal agreement on the matter.  I know there might be a few dissenters but, by in large, I expected that since God was leading us in this direction, we would have acceptance from folks in general.   What I found while reading all the comments was that there was controversy.  About a 50/50 division.  Some folks agree and some folks disagree.  What God showed me was this:  It was about Jesus and His acceptance by God’s people.  “And there was much murmuring among the people concerning him: for some said, He is a good man: others said, Nay; but he deceiveth the people.” (John 7:12).  God’s plan from the beginning was to send the Messiah and yet, when he arrived, controversy arose among God’s people.  I don’t think it is any different with this recent refugee crisis either.  For me, to fear Muslims is just a mistake.  To shun them out of fear is an un-biblical mistake.  Paul writes, ” Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse them. 15Rejoice with those who rejoice, weep with those who weep. 16Live in harmony with one another. Do not be haughty, but associate with the lowly.h Never be wise in your own sight. 17Repay no one evil for evil, but give thought to do what is honorable in the sight of all. 18If possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all. 19Beloved, never avenge yourselves, but leave iti to the wrath of God, for it is written, “Vengeance is mine, I will repay, says the Lord.” 20To the contrary, “if your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink; for by so doing you will heap burning coals on his head.” 21Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” (Romans 12:14-21).

It also occurred to me that the way to counter terrorism may not be with violence.  Perhaps violence only perpetuates violence.  Terrorism is the widespread use of fear.  A random act of violence and hatred.  Perhaps the answer for countering terrorism lies in this passage of Romans.  Perhaps we should be countering random acts of violence with random acts of love.   “Kill em all and let God sort them out” is not in the bible and doesn’t seem to be working so far.  Perhaps random acts of love and kindness is what the refugees need.  This would deflate the entire radical fundamental ISIS narrative.  We can be a loving and serving people as well as a people capable of defending ourselves.  I’m not saying that we shouldn’t be prudent in protecting ourselves and defending ourselves against out spoken enemies.  But what I am saying is that the biblical mandate that I quoted from Romans needs to be implemented on a much greater level.  Rina did this the other day with a Muslim family she saw at Goodwill.  “They” did not respond with knives to cut off her head.  “They” did not detonate a suicide vest.  “They” were very grateful and appreciative.  “They” may not listen to the radical banter they will hear because someone, a complete stranger, loved them and welcomed them and didn’t even know them.  That, my friends, is Biblical Christianity.  That is power.  That is the way to necessitate change.  Let all of us do some random act of kindness for a refugee this week or an Islamic family in your area.  Thank you Rina for showing us the way.

