Prophetic Minstrel

Tonight, Jon and I were worshipping with one of the CD’s Michelle and Troy gave us, when I got the urge to grab my violin and try to play along to one of the songs. After the song was over, I was going to see what the next song was and play along with it, too, but in the “in between” while nothing was playing, God gave me something to play. I turned the CD off then, because it doesn’t happen all that often that God gives me a song to play like that and I didn’t want to be distracted by the CD player. As I was playing, God began to “speak” to Jon (in his thoughts) and Jon started writing down what God was saying. I wasn’t paying much attention to what Jon was doing (my back was halfway turned to him) but at one point I was playing the same thing over and over again and got frustrated because nothing new was coming and I thought it was probably getting irritating for him, hearing the same tune over and over again. I was about to stop when I “heard” (again, in my thoughts – clarification for Alan) šŸ˜‰ God tell me there was a reason I was playing it again and again. I kept playing for a while longer, until Jon stopped writing and almost right after he stopped writing, I stopped playing… I just felt done. Then he shared that he had been given a word while I was playing, and I shared what I’d been feeling while I was playing. I pondered the possibility that God had moved on me to play because He wanted to give Jon a word, and he agreed and read the following scripture verse to me:

“And Elisha said, ‘As the LORD of hosts lives, before whom I stand, surely were it not that I regard the presence of Jehoshaphat king of Judah, I would not look at you, nor see you. But now bring me a musician.’ Then it happened, when the musician played, that the hand of the LORD came upon him. And he said, ‘Thus says the LORD…'” (2 Kings 3:14-16)

Here is what Jon wrote down….

The spirit moves inwardly like a fire, receive the burning deep into your belly. This is the purging fire of the consuming God. He imparts fresh gifts to men, He will root out all until nothing but love remains. Acknowledge me and my presence and you will sense that I am there. The acknowledgement is faith. Be familiar with my presence and your acknowledgement of it. It is key to the walk of the spirit. Faith releases the walk of the spirit. The acknowledgement of my presence releases the faith. Give mental ascent to my omnipresence and you will know that I am with you always. Walking with you, being burdened for you in the burdens you bear. Release your burdens upon me so that I can bear them with you. They don’t just go away, but I carry them for you as we walk together. This provides peace in the storm. Let me bear your burdens as we walk in the spirit, for I am burdened for you. The burdens will block your ability to experience my presence. Behold, I will anoint you with fresh oil. We are still just beginning. I will surprise you, I will show up when you don’t expect me. I am the Lord your God who sanctifies you, I am preparing my vessles to walk by the Spirit. Be at peace and fear not, I am making all things new, both past and present. We need to deal with some areas of the past to hasten change in the present, to impact the future, to create space within my vessels. Continue in the paths I have you on, do not deviate to the right or to the left. Seek not holiness by your works but by my spirit. I really am with you always. I really am. Let me change you, and say “amen” to my work. This is all I require of you.

